Skip to main content
Reconciliation Awards

Reconciliation Awards

The Reconciliation Awards are held annually to recognise individuals, community groups, schools, sporting clubs and businesses that are making a contribution (small or large) to reconciliation in our local community.

Award categories and criteria

Individual Award

An individual who has made a valuable contribution to reconciliation in our community through their work or volunteering recently or over a number of years.

Nominees must have a connection to the City of Whittlesea.

Community Group, Organisation or Business

Businesses, community groups, sporting clubs or organisations that have made a contribution to reconciliation.

A group or organisation working to deliver targeted programs across community services, health, employment, art, sport or business sectors. Must deliver Aboriginal specific services and or programs within in the City of Whittlesea or in partnership with other agencies. 


School-based student, teacher or parent-led initiatives, programs and cultural celebrations that promote understanding of Aboriginal people, their history and culture.

Primary, secondary and tertiary schools located in the City of Whittlesea. Must have a focus on education, National Reconciliation Week or NAIDOC Week and raising awareness of reconciliation.

Uncle Reg Blow Champion Award

This category was renamed to honour the late Uncle Reg Blow, a highly respected Elder, Gureng Gureng man and well known Aboriginal leader throughout the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal community.

A former chairperson of the WRG, Uncle Reg as he was known, worked tirelessly for his people, whilst having the highest regard for people of all cultures and faiths.

This category aims to identify champions in the community who lead the way in reconciliation, with a vision of bringing people of all cultures together to promote understanding of Aboriginal people their history and culture.

2017 nominations now closed

Nominations for our 2017 Reconciliation Awards have now closed.

2018 nominations will open in March.