Skip to main content


On Friday 19 June 2020, a Panel of Administrators was appointed to the City of Whittlesea.

Panel of Administrators

Victorian Premier The Hon Daniel Andrews appointed a Panel of Administrators to the City of Whittlesea on Friday 19 June 2020.

Interim Administrator Lydia Wilson was appointed Chair with Ms Peita Duncan and The Hon Bruce Billson also appointed.

Administrators carry out the role, responsibilities and functions of Councillors as set out in the Local Government Act and the Panel undertakes the role of the Council.

Administrators were appointed after the dismissal of Councillors following Parliament approving the Local Government (Whittlesea City Council) Act, which came into effect at midnight on Friday 20 March 2020.

The Panel of Administrators will remain until the October 2024 local government election.

Chair Lydia Wilson

Lydia Wilson began as Administrator on Saturday 21 March 2020. She was appointed Chair of the Panel of Administrators on Friday 19 June 2020.

Ms Wilson brings a depth of corporate governance experience to the Administrator role.

She has served on multiple not for profit, public and private sector boards and advisory committees over the past 25 years.

Her governance roles have included appointments on Ministerial Advisory Committees in relation to waterways, waste and resource recovery.

Other board governance appointments have been in the areas of procurement, aged care, childcare and health services.

She is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and a past Fellow of Local Government Professionals.

As a former chief executive of three Victorian municipalities - Manningham, Yarra and Macedon Ranges - Lydia has a detailed understanding of the Local Government sector and brings valuable experience to support her Administrator function.


Ms Peita Duncan

Ms Duncan is the Chair of Greyhound Racing Victoria and Board member for the Metropolitan Fire Brigade.






The Hon Bruce Billson

Mr Billson is the director of a consultancy business providing strategic policy and communications advice and served for 20 years as the federal member for Dunkley. He has held several senior executive positions in local government, including Acting CEO of the Shire of Hasting.