Skip to main content

Advocacy Partnerships

Interface Councils 

Interface Councils is a group of ten municipalities that form a ring around metropolitan Melbourne, comprising Cardinia Shire Council, City of Casey, Hume City Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, City of Whittlesea, Wyndham City Council and Yarra Ranges Council. 

The Interface Councils group aims to represent the 1.6 million residents living in Melbourne's outer suburbs and advocate for better services and infrastructure as a collective.   

National Growth Area Alliance (NGAA) 

The National Growth Areas Alliance is the peak body for local governments in Australia’s outer metropolitan growth areas and advocates on growth area challenges and opportunities. Outer suburb growth areas are home to more than 5.3 million people in Australia – 20% of the population – and these communities are growing more than twice as fast as the rest of the nation.

Northern Council Alliance (NCA) 

The Northern Councils Alliance is a group of seven Councils in Melbourne’s north that advocate and deliver projects that positively contribute to the economic, social, health and wellbeing of our residents and businesses. Member councils include Banyule City Council, City of Darebin, Hume City Council, Merri-bek City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council and City of Whittlesea.


NORTH Link is an independent association that seeks to promote and improve the economy and liveability of Melbourne’s North. A business network and regional economic development advocacy group representing Melbourne’s northern region, NORTH Link comprises local councils (the cities of Banyule, Darebin, Hume, Merri-bek and Whittlesea and the shires of Mitchell and Nillumbik), local tertiary education institutions and industry including Melbourne Airport, Northern Hospital, DPV Health and the Melbourne Market Authority. 

Northern Alliance for Greenhouse Action 

The Northern Alliance for Greenhouse Action (NAGA) is a network of nine councils in Melbourne's north, working together to create a zero-carbon society and provide maximum protection against the impacts of climate change. Member councils include Banyule, Darebin, Manningham, Melbourne, Merri-bek, Hume, Nillumbik, Whittlesea and Yarra.