Skip to main content
Mayor and Councillors

Mayor and Councillors

The City of Whittlesea is divided into 3 wards - North, South East and South West. Whittlesea Council has 11 councillors, who have been elected as representatives of the 3 wards.

About the Mayor and Councillors

Councillors are local residents and know their communities well.

Anyone can be a Councillor as long as they are over 18 and eligible to vote in State and Federal Government elections.

Councillors are not paid a salary but receive an annual allowance to help cover expenses in fulfilling their role on Council.

Councillors generally carry out their Council duties on top of their full-time job in the workforce and/or home commitments. They take on this responsibility because they want to play a part in local government and feel strongly about issues in their community.

The main duties of elected Councillors are:

  • to make decisions about the running of the community and the Council
  • to listen to the problems and ideas of local people and take those ideas to the rest of Council

The Mayor, who is the leader of the Council, is in charge of the Council meetings and represents Council at formal functions.

Find out about becoming a councillor.

Current Mayor and Councillors

north ward Contact Details
Cr Ricky Kirkham (Mayor)

Cr Ricky Kirkham (Mayor)

E: mayor@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 9217 2170 (Mayor's office)

Ricky Kirkham has been a Councillor with the City of Whittlesea since October 2012. In November 2014 at the age of 25, he was elected as the youngest Mayor of the City of Whittlesea and in November 2016 was again elected as Mayor. In his professional career, Cr Kirkham was an advisor with the Department of Defence and has previously served in the Royal Australian Air Force with active service in the Middle East. During this second term with the City of Whittlesea, Cr Kirkham has committed to lobby the State and Federal Governments for increased funding for much-needed road infrastructure, recreational facilities and services for young people. He is committed to community safety and crime prevention initiatives. Born and raised in the City of Whittlesea, Cr Kirkham also sits on the City of Whittlesea Audit and Risk Committee and the Emergency Management Planning Committee.

Cr John Butler

Cr John Butler

E: john.butler@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0437 421 115

Cr Emilia Lisa Sterjova

Cr Emilia Lisa Sterjova

E: emilia.sterjova@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0429 226 133

south east ward Contact Details
Cr Norm Kelly (Deputy Mayor)

Cr Norm Kelly (Deputy Mayor)

E: norm.kelly@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0409 355 665

Cr Sam Alessi

Cr Sam Alessi

E: sam.alessi@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0417 392 578

Cr Alahna Desiato

Cr Alahna Desiato

E: alahna.desiato@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0428 726 939

Cr Mary Lalios

Cr Mary Lalios

E: mary.lalios@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0400 132 117

south west ward Contact Details
Cr Lawrie Cox

Cr Lawrie Cox

E: lawrie.cox@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0419 379 180

Cr Stevan Kozmevski

Cr Stevan Kozmevski

E: stevan.kozmevski@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0417 390 854

Cr Caz Monteleone

Cr Caz Monteleone

E: caz.monteleone@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0437 601 113

Cr Kris Pavlidis

Cr Kris Pavlidis

E: kris.pavlidis@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
M: 0407 689 032

Find your ward

Mayor election

The 11 Councillors vote annually to elect 1 Councillor as the Mayor for a 1-year term at a Special Council Meeting.

You can find out more about how Whittlesea Council is governed and how the Mayor is elected in our Procedural Matters Local Law.

This local law regulates:

  • how the Council Common Seal can be used
  • procedures for Ordinary Council Meetings, Special Meetings, Advisory Committee Meetings, and Special Committees Meetings
  • the process for electing the Mayor and Chairpersons.

Code of Conduct

Council adopted the Councillors Code of Conduct on 14 June 2016.

Councillor Resource Policy

The Councillor Resources and Facilities Policy guides how resources and facilities will be made available for the use of the Mayor and Councillors to assist them to perform their Council business related duties.

The below documents provide clear guidelines on the level of resources and facilities to be made available.